Top of the Box

Home » auto racing » 1st Annual Easter Classic at NGS

1st Annual Easter Classic at NGS

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers


April 2010
« Mar   May »

Top Clicks

  • None

The 1st Annual Easter Classic at North Ga. Speedway was a true barnburner!

Racing in all classes was nothing short of pure nonstop action. The SRRS Series, comes into town and brings the traveling hot shoe’s of the Dirt Late Model series to fight for a 3000.00 to win feature, with a full racing program to boot!

The SRRS serires does things a bit different in the way they fill the field, they have 3 groups of qualifying, the fastest 3 in each group transfer’s to the main and the remainder of the feature field is filled by a series of heat races, taking the top 5 from each heat to round out a field of 24 of the fastest dirt late models in the area.

In heat one it was Collins, Shirley,Hickman, Hickerson and Morris making the transfer, in heat two it was Kinzer, Proctor, Payne, Morris and Gant making the transfer, and in the last heat it was Grizzle,Brinkley,Graves, Summerville, and Putnam all making the big show.

When the green dropped on the Super late model feature it was Ray Cook the “tar heel Tiger “ followed by Randy “the dream” Weaver taking off, Ray cook was never bested as he drove off and left the Dreamweaver, and Billy Ogle and Cook led every lap for the $3000.00 payday. The top ten are as follows….

1 Ray Cook

2 Randy Weaver

3 Billy Ogle

4 Ronnie Johnson

5 Mike Collins

6 Jacob Grizzle

7 Lee Sutton

8 Tony Knowles

9 Derek Ellis

10 Skip Arp

The hobby classes only run the feature due to the supers being in town and in Econo hobby it was some of the wildest passes and lead changes I have ever seen, but when the dust settled it was

1 Mike Fletcher

2 711 car not sure of driver

3Adam Earwood

4 Glen Grimsley

5 Tom Darby

Modified hobby it was all Devin Stuart as he lead wire to wire, in his first win of the season.

1 Devin Stuart

2 Tim Ford

3 Dale Fortner

4 Don Farmer

5 Larry Higgins

A special note, Larry Higgins came from the back up to third and was running the leaders down intil he spun in turn 3 to wind up 5th.

Next was Crates and some more excitement with another car getting on it’s rof this time it was the 73 of Jamie Parker getting over with some help from a couple other cars, but Darrell Owenby had them covered again for his second win of the year .

1 Darrell Owenby

2 Bo Stanley

3 Brian Burke

4 Jason Deal

5 Todd Hernandez

Then the limited’s got to rolling and it was Devin Dilbeck putting on a driving clinic and winning wire to wire.

1 Devin Dilbeck

2 Jason Welshan

3Trig Parris

4 Rick Hixson

5 Shannon Beardon.

The mod pony top 4 (only 4 finished ) were:

1 Grady Stokes walking away!

2 Ralph Langston

3 Seth Wilson

4 Terry Wilson.

All in all it was some of the best racing all around I have seen in a while, with good tight racing in all divisions.

It was so good I can’t wait till next week!


the dr.


1 Comment

  1. FLETCH346 says:

    Dang, I didn’t know my long lost brother Mike ran the Hobby Class!! LOL

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: